RSS

Beef and Bacon Reach All-Time High

22 Jul

(CNSNews.com) – The price of beef and bacon hit its all-time high in the United States in June, according to data released Tuesday by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).

Beef and Bacon Pinwheels

“The index for food at home has increased 2.4 percent over the past year, with the index for meats, poultry, fish and eggs up 7.5 percent,” according to the BLS.  Prices are expect to rise. 

Read more here

We are cross fencing.  Preparing to add our meat-on-the-hoof. 

What are you doing?

 
16 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Beef and Bacon Reach All-Time High

  1. Jamie

    July 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    I’m freezing and canning all I can afford to buy. Earlier this year I stocked up on beef while the price was still reasonable. I have bought all the prime ribs for the holidays and when I find meat as a loss leader I stock up more.

     
    • The Soffitrat

      July 23, 2014 at 4:51 pm

      You’re ahead of the game by a long shot. I think that soon you will be even more pleased with yourself.

       
  2. Dannyboy53

    July 23, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    It’s looking like everything is just going to get worse as far as prices go. Food riots here we come.

     
  3. The Soffitrat

    July 23, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Absolutely right Danny. We should all be investing in reality. Food, land, tools, toilet paper. Real things. We don’t have to invest in gold and silver. We can convert what we don’t use for ourselves to those.metals later.

     
  4. Jamie

    July 24, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    rat I have read many at Zerohedge.com describe this as Bi-flation. Everything you need to survive basics are going up in price and all the thing you don’t need but are wants are deflating in price. While you can’t eat an Ipad many hard goods and tools have dropped in price as people try to liquidate to maintain a “standard” of living they are used too or pay off debt and get rid of how over-leveraged they are over debt. Cash will be king because people are idiots and think those green pieces of paper have value.

    I watched the future’s commodity markets and basic common sense of extrapolating that Beef and pork prices would rise so I bought as much as I could before the prices started getting insane. The US Dollar is dying as a reserve currency. The Stock market is all about the churn and finding a greater fool to sell to. PM’s and hard goods are incredibly cheap as the retailers are over extended and must sell if for no other reason than the can’t afford to carry a product in inventory.

    Shift your spending to hard goods and buy loss leaders only at the store. I won’t say many are waking up but they know they need to liquidate and get cash on hand in order to maintain a “standard of living” they are used too, rather than down sizing.

    The huge expansion of credit is nothing new since we got the Federal Reserve. In the 1920’s credit exploded and people could buy for a dollar down and a dollar a week. That worked great till 1929 and the bill came due. What we call credit is not a good thing it is soul-sucking debt and compound interest will crush you if you are not smart about your budget.

     
    • Dannyboy53

      July 24, 2014 at 9:17 pm

      Jamie I hadn’t noticed or even given much thought to what you say about the wants/needs prices but I think you are right! At least it seems so in our area also.

      My next project, in fact I’m starting tomorrow, is to start preserving meat. And we have the machine to seal it up airtight also. Have you or anyone else had any experience with this? I’d like to know how it turned out.

       
      • The Soffitrat

        July 24, 2014 at 9:44 pm

        I’m just finishing up a smoker. Will get pictures up soon. Then, we start on a second one. 1/2″ steel pipe. Once it gets hot it’ll stay hot!

         
        • Dannyboy53

          July 24, 2014 at 10:09 pm

          Well Jamie, we’ll all meet up at ‘rats house when he gets those smokers heated up!!! I’ll bring a nice fat Raccoon.

           
    • The Soffitrat

      July 25, 2014 at 1:39 pm

      You’re right. We carried debt, and I have not be against it as the rates were worth it as long as there is growth in income as a result. However, that said, I just paid off all of our debt.

       
  5. Jamie

    July 24, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    Dannyboy I’m assuming something like a foodsaver vacuum type thing. I love my food saver and it works great for sealing dried foods in your basic canning jar. This week I found a sale on saltine cracker and have stored them in some of the in a popcorn metal tin with some DE. 1 teaspoon for a small cookie tin and a table spoon of DE with a larger 1 gallon type tin. I have tested this out and all crackers tend to be very fresh tasting and not stale after 6 months plus of the expiration date.

    I had a massive vet bill soon after I started prepping and I had plenty of food to eat and did not have to shop I found my “inner snacker” was a bit deprived. Now I tend towards salty snacks and others may have a sweet tooth. But I think is best to stock up on those little snacks and preserve them long term.

     
    • Dannyboy53

      July 24, 2014 at 10:06 pm

      Yes that is what I’m talking about but I couldn’t remember the name of it. (That CRS disease again!) I have instruction for dried meats and seasoning also and thought I would put up some of that along with canning some meats. My mother and Grandmother did that when I was a kid and as I remember it kept for a long time.

      Everything tasted better back then, but we raised almost everything we ate from vegetables & fruit to beef, chicken and pork. We had fresh (raw) milk, butter and eggs…wow, I miss those days!

       
      • The Soffitrat

        July 25, 2014 at 2:03 pm

        We’ve got thousands of wild pigs out this way. They are what we smoke. That and brisket. Ah, beef!

         
        • Dannyboy53

          July 25, 2014 at 3:10 pm

          Lucky you, that is one of the few things I miss about Louisiana! Wild pigs are not common in this area although there are plenty in other places in Arkansas. Lots of deer and other smaller game however. And two of the three ponds on the ranch are loaded with fish, Catfish, Bream and Bass. In half an hour a person can catch more than a family can eat in a day!

           
  6. The Soffitrat

    July 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I’ve got that too! We are blessed to be in the country and not stuck in some damned Democrat run big City.

     
    • Dannyboy53

      July 25, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      AMEN Brother!!! It don’t get no better than this here on earth.

       
      • The Soffitrat

        July 25, 2014 at 10:06 pm

        And we have meat processors here. Not just pre-packaged grocery store preserved meats.

         

What are you thinking?

 
