RSS

Back to work!

30 Mar

I know that I haven’t had anything to post for a few days.  However, there are reasons for this.  Now that spring is here, like you, I am working to prepare for the upcoming summer.  A summer with inflated prices at the grocery store.   If we still have grocery stores to visit.

In addition to working on the business, paying off debt, purchasing real estate, and building new structures, I have been busy preparing to plant.  The lake in the background is the irrigation we have for this spot.  It’s secluded and easy to defend.

Ready to plant Ready to plant2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tractor (with the 8′ tiller) makes it a little easier.

Tiller

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you ready?  Tell us about it.

 

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “Back to work!

  1. Jamie

    March 30, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    rat: I think my lot is about the same size as your garden including the where the house sits. LOL
    I’m adding a quite a few 5 and 18 gallon buckets to go along with my raised garden beds. I think the raspberrys in 5 gallon buckets will do okay this year. I have one 18 gallon “party bucket” filled with strawberries that is growing. The other strawberry bucket is looking like a bust so far this year.
    I’m trying potatoes in both 5 and 18 gallon buckets, Yukon gold, Purple viking and a red pontiac. I figure that gives me a good mix and hopefully at least one potato bucket will be sucessful. I think I’m the only person in Idaho that can’t grow potatoes.

    Planted some lavender, persian buttercups and mums for a little bit of color and found out that mums contain Prymethrin which is an insect repellent. The mums went next to the BBQ and patio.

    No luck so far on getting the green house yet but I did spit a few pony paks of cold weather veggies with Mom. I’m looking at going vertical with my raised bed veggies with more bush types rather than some of the veggies that need a lot of real estate to grow.

    Still working on the cleanup of the grape vines. I may cut down one of my cherry trees to get a bit more sunlight on part of the yard and stop the grape vines from using the tree like a trelis.

    Raised beds are cleaned up and have been tilled but I’d like to add a bit more manure and straw this month and till again. I have to say the soil in the beds is looking rich and back with plenty of earthworms. Now that I have a bit of wood I think I could biuld a few more small raised beds in the 2’x2′ foot and get a little more garden gowing. I have a sort of modified hugelculture gardening idea I think I can work on this year and it will be ready for next year’s garden.

     
  2. The Soffitrat

    March 30, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    ” I think I’m the only person in Idaho that can’t grow potatoes.”

    Too funny Jamie! I bet you can too (grow taters). You’re in Idaho! Sounds like you’re light years ahead of the vast majority of people.

     
  3. Dannyboy53

    March 30, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    Jamie you and ‘rat are ahead of us. By the way Soffitrat, the photos look good…I’m impressed Brother! And having the water supply that close is a good thing too. We haven’t started our gardens yet but probably will in another week or ten days.

    Jamie I wish you luck with the potatoes but I’m like ‘rat, “I bet you can too (grow taters)”. If you can’t grow potatoes in IDAHO, birds can’t fly! I had forgot about the mums but when you mentioned it. I remembered my grandmother growing them around her house for that reason. I was very young but I remember her growing a lot of different plants around the property (besides the garden and fruit trees) that had significant use to them but I don’t remember what she told me, jeez that’s been 50 yrs ago! It’s sad how we have become so dependent on technology and chemicals over the last half century. We have lost the knowledge and use of a lot of what was once critically important plants to everyday life for centuries.

    Rocks are such a major problem around here but we have several areas that have been “cleaned” of stones so it’s relatively easy to work it and plant. At the ranch we have several raised beds which is an easy way of getting around all the rocks and of course fertilizer is no problem with about thirty horses on the property!

    I’m very impressed with what you have done Jamie considering the challenges you have had to face the past year. I salute you Lady! Soffitrat from the looks of things you have had more time for yourself and the family and you have been diligent in the use of it.

    Good luck to you both.

     
    • The Soffitrat

      March 30, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      Rocks are a big problem here too. We don’t have enough!

       
      • Dannyboy53

        March 30, 2014 at 10:35 pm

        Oh how I wish I could send you some of ours! I have several tons of them piled up on our property in Scotland, Ar where we cleaned out a half acre garden spot. Probably 5 or 6 dump truck loads. Ranging from the size of a softball to a computer monitor!

         
        • The Soffitrat

          March 31, 2014 at 12:01 am

          We have to buy them down here. I know what you have. Built too many signs up there to not know. I was told that it’s the hardest rock in N. America.

           
    • Anon

      March 31, 2014 at 9:16 am

      I do believe that rocks are the number ONE reason someone thought up the concept of a wheel barrow.

      Here in the corn belt of east central Indiana, we deal with granite mostly, but because it is so damned dense and heavy, granite stays under the surface of the soil. My grandfathers farm had quite a few repairs on the equipment.

       
  4. Jamie

    March 31, 2014 at 12:15 am

    It’s nasty clay soil but with a little work I can produce a nice garden. I’m not a gardener by nature and goodness knows its a semi-miracle that I can get anything to grow with my Black thumb. I’m actuaully amazed I can grow a garden at all. I tend to be animal oriented and gardening/farming is not my forte.

    I’d like to have few small goats, perhaps a pot-bellied pig or two and set up a small animal animal farm/ranch but the city does not allow farm critters in the city limits.

     
  5. Anon

    March 31, 2014 at 9:10 am

    I have a little Simplicity with a 32″ tiller that will get the job done. I also make about $500 cash every year tilling other backyards and community garden plots. I only paid $500 for the Simplicity and tiller 4 years ago. Sure as hell getting my money’s worth out of her with only a set of front tires that I had to replace.

     
  6. Dannyboy53

    March 31, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Soffitrat our rocks are hard as a woodpeckers lips. But I do NOT envy Anon with that danged granite!

     
    • The Soffitrat

      March 31, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      No kidding, but Indiana (I thought) was known for its farming and fertile land. I didn’t realize they had so much granite there. He would give a whole new meaning to the term, black thumb. 🙂 Jamie?

       
      • Anon

        March 31, 2014 at 9:44 pm

        What we deal with here though is the smaller stuff that was deposited by the glaciers of our last ice age. Most granite deposits are well under the surface underneath the actual bedrock.

        It has been many of years since I have been out on any farm, but yes we still have the fertile lands that go for up to $10,000 per acre.

         
        • The Soffitrat

          March 31, 2014 at 10:48 pm

          What?! It still goes from 1200 to 3,500 per acre here. With timber and water. Wow! That sounds like Weatherford, where it goes for 20K. Nothing but flat, dry ass, land either! That rock in Arkansas IS the hardest in N. America. I saw three contractors go broke trying to bore under I-40 one time. They won’t let ’em use dynamite either. Says is screws with their sewer lines. 🙂

          And they’re proud of those. They’ve only had ’em bout 15 years now. LOL! Sorry Danny… 🙂

           

What are you thinking?

 
