RSS

On people

27 Oct

“So you think that money is the root of all evil?” ~ Francisco d’Anconia

Some people are genuine.  Some are not.  Some are creative.  Some are not.  Some produce.  Some loot.

Ayn Rand explains money like you’ve never seen it before.  Read it in its entirety here.   Take it slow.  Re-read it until you clearly understand every sentence.  Absorb every word.

Then ask yourself about who you follow, or choose to associate with.  Be truthful to yourself.  Be rigorously honest with yourself.  Where do those people fit into Francisco’s definition.  Which person or group do your leaders, or associates, fall into?

Are you sure?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “On people

  1. The Soffitrat

    October 27, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Surely the lurkers, the would-be bullies, will see this. Perhaps they will be convict by what they read. Enough for them to stop their own looting. Perhaps they will realize that I write as an individual, not as a Mayor or public official. The irony of their hatred of me is that I’m about as much of a politician as they are. As anyone is.

    Unbeknownst to anyone outside of our small town, I have been trying to get out of the position for past two years. Every time I think that I can, something has happened. I call it a ‘God thing’ and have long talks with him about his sense of humor. Last month, we lost a council member to a heart attack. He died. A good friend. This month we are losing another to M.D. Anderson down in Houston. If anyone thinks that I’m a typical politician, ask the County Judge or either of the two County Sheriffs, or the Union Pacific Railroad, or the many other State agencies that I deal with. As hard as it is to leave the people (who do not want me to go), it is circumstance that has kept me in the position. The town is now well. It has the best infrastructure and financial balance sheet anywhere. We have the absolute best police department anywhere, (It’s more like living in a gated community, with your own private security) with an average experience of 14 years. We have put in place all of the plans for any event that can occur. The people are poor, but they are now proud. They will be safe, and they will eat. They will have plenty of drinkable water. We have given them a self-sufficient town. Having turned down a 3.5 million dollar Obama-money grant for one of those ‘shovel ready projects’. On our own, we completed a complete renovation of our aging waste water treatment plant. Without obligating ourselves to the Federal Government. No doubt some other town or city scarfed up that money. We are a sovereign town. My pay during this entire seven years?

      $ 0.00

    Of course, I did pay for my own expenses for two trips to Austin during that time.

    And so now, Mr. Carolyn threatens to cause me trouble? This is laughable. In other words, he should call someone who gives a damn. He should threaten someone he can actually harm. In this case, he would be doing me a favor. And free me up in the process. Where I can begin to have some real fun again. Perhaps with people like him! I guess that it’s good that he doesn’t know how I make my living!

    They bitch and moan about our leaders, but they don’t have the slightest clue of what that is. They can’t tell, and don’t want to discern, the difference between what they bitch about and someone who is everything they proclaim to desire. They bitch and moan for the sake of it. Then they return to their looting. It is who they are. It is what they are. Yet, people would choose to associate with that? I do not understand this. What was it that Rand said about jealousy?

    Thank you,

    Mayor McCheese

     
  2. Dannyboy53

    October 27, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Money is “the root of all evil” about as much as guns cause crime. Misuse of both has got us into a mess for sure!

     
  3. The Soffitrat

    October 27, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    It’s the people who take the real product of wealth. The looters who steal the value of others. Rand nailed it on the head. Even though this took place years ago. It is as if she could see into the future, to today.

    It’s exactly what they are doing to us, and many people mimic them. We are truly on a death spiral. In our case, we will not let them be the only ones with a muzzle. People who produce nothing, but live off of the product, the labor of those who create, will be the first to die off. They cannot support themselves without the host that they feed off of. We have a few of these even in the patriot movement today. It is those, the would-be bullies, that I stand up against. That I despise.

    Like Rand said, they are the the men of double standard–the men who live by force, yet count on those who live by trade to create the value of their looted money–the men who are the hitchhikers of virtue.

     
  4. Jamie

    October 27, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    rat, the citation in the LOVE of money is the root of all evil. I myself got caught up in the game of
    “He with the best toys wins” Wins what exactly? The PTBs always seem to forget that part!

    I think what I’m doing now is my purpose in life, my calling so to speak. I don’t think I’ll ever get rich doing it but I love what I do and I may have hit on a cottage industry and home business idea that might pay my bills. I don’t need a lot of money and I would love to tell the Government I no longer need the handouts of SSD. I feel I did earn the VA disability (I still have the X-rays from the 3 crushed vertabrea and blown knees) but if I can generate about $1200.00 a month I can get by and thrive.

    I took me a while to relearn that I’m not my car or my house or how much or little money I make. I am myself and my value is me.

     
    • The Soffitrat

      October 27, 2013 at 9:29 pm

      Exactly! Your value is you. Until we understand what Rand meant, we will never change. It’s not that money is evil. It represents our worth in terms of what we have produced. It is what we exchange with another for his worth of production. As she said, it cannot buy happiness. It can take you where you want to go, but not replace you as the driver. It will give you the means for the satisfaction of your desires, but not provide you with desires. The paper in your wallet, it should be gold, are a token of honor. To work is to produce, and to produce, is honorable. Money is not made at the expense of the weak or lazy. The common bond among men is not the exchange of suffering, but the exchange of goods. Take that money and produce. You already are! Your value is you. And it is great!

      This is what Rand warned us would happen. We are there.

      http://www.survivetheblackout.com/4/

       
    • Dannyboy53

      October 27, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      Jamie you have been working and paying into the “system”, do not feel bad about taking out YOUR money. Those that never put a single penny in the system damn sure don’t!

      Many of us think you are “top shelf” girl!

       
      • The Soffitrat

        October 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm

        Paying into the system can be done in more ways than one.

         
      • Jamie

        October 28, 2013 at 1:10 am

        Danny that’s the hook of the PTBs it’s not an entitlement, it’s not welfare, It’s your own money we will control how much we will let you have at any time and we will use that paycheck against you if you don’t tow the line. If you can’t physically touch it or stand with a gun and defend it. YOU DON’T OWN IT! It doesn’t matter that I worked for 20 + years, it doesn’t matter that I did the Army thing and got disabled. The average ghetto mama, white trash or illegal immigrant gets more than I do and they have done nothing but vote!
        We can’t win, the votes are against us. Your local congress critter is beholden to the big banks and corperations and the FSA to get elected. We are outnumbered and can’t win. Peacefully we can withdraw our money and consent. I don’t want a violent revolution, just stop playing the game is the best advice I can give. If I can make about $1200 a month I won’t be dependent on the PTBs but I will also be below the income tax. I will pay cash and refuse to be tracked by anyone.

         
  5. Jamie

    October 27, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    Money is simply a representation of time effort and creativity and a value placed on it. Gold is a “fiat” currency that is a representaion of value. But Gold in of itself has value regardless of how you have earned it.
    In “Starship Troopers” Heinlein talks about value in terms of apples, flour and sugar all valuable items in a food supply. But a good or great baker can add value by making wonderful pastry based on his time, effort an knowledge and hack can destroy all value of the apples, flour and sugar by simply burning it up in an oven. An apple burned up in a stove while the same chemically as an apple picked off a tree has lost most of it’s value. While the baker has turned the basics into great tasting food that commands a higher price, hence more value.

    If we paid people in PMs instead of fiat paper. If they saved the PMs tend to become more valuable when hard time happen because the PTBs value PMs. Metals are a store of value, that’s why it is illegal to melt down pennies or nickles but you can burn paper money with no repercussions. A paper bill is worth nothing but a nickel or penny still has value based on it’s metal content.

    How many people would take up a job offer that pays the $1.50 an hour in pre 1964 dimes, Inflation would make you non-taxable and the silver itself is in your hand with no counterparty risk. So every day you worked you got 120 90% silver dimes or every week 600 90% silver dimes. At today’s prices that are manipulated to the low side you could convert those 600 dime into $1200 paper fiat dollars even at todays low price for silver. I don’t think there are a lot of middle class jobs in the usa that paiy $1200.00 a week in fiat dollars. That was the average wage back in 1964. That is the true difference in value and shows how the FED and the politicians inflate to screw Joe six pack out of the true value of his work.

     
    • The Soffitrat

      October 28, 2013 at 12:00 am

      Just like SS was a scam, designed when the average life span was what? Then to top off the scam, the pols started robbing its piggy bank! You’re too young to ever see any of that money. The next scam, of course, and one designed for your generation, is Obama Care. Now, what will the radicals amongst us do? The chatter is getting more brazen.

       

What are you thinking?

 
